ACTS AND RESOLUTIONS OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF GEORGIA 2023

Act 73 House Resolution 256, Part VIII & Part XXXII Effective May 1, 2023

WEST BERRIEN VIETNAM WAR VETERANS MEMORIAL BRIDGE — DESIGNATED.

A RESOLUTION

Dedicating certain portions of the state highway system; and for other purposes.

WHEREAS, our nation's security continues to rely on patriotic men and women who put their personal lives on hold in order to place themselves in harm's way to protect the freedoms that all United States citizens cherish; and

WHEREAS, United States military veterans have demonstrated a deep personal commitment to protecting democracy and a willingness to sacrifice their own personal safety and comfort to ensure the well-being of their fellow man; and

WHEREAS, they have served as guardians of this nation's freedom and liberty and have diligently and conscientiously undergone intensive and rigorous training in order to serve their country with honor and distinction during times of war and peace; and

WHEREAS, it is important that veterans are thanked for their selfless service to this nation and honored for their unyielding commitment to protecting the people and ideals of the United States; and

WHEREAS, veterans embody the spirit of service, willing to find meaning in something greater than themselves, and it is abundantly fitting and proper that the outstanding accomplishments and sacrifices of these remarkable and distinguished Americans be honored appropriately.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED AND ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF GEORGIA, that this body hereby joins in honoring military veterans and dedicates the bridge near the Berrien-Tift County line, on SR-125, over Vanceville Road, as the West Berrien Vietnam War Veterans Memorial Bridge and includes each of the following names: Scott Tucker, Homer Williams, Carroll Purvis, Jerry Castleberry, Darrell Danforth, Charles Nichols, Jimmy Grant, Roger Grant, Roger Walker, Johnny Gaskins, Dalton Purvis, Raliegh Tyson, Dewayne Lovett, Ray Pearson, Fred Ivey, Larry Taylor, James Griffin, Clifton Bryan, Ottis Weeks, Larry Purvis, Howard Womack, and Thomas Lokey.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Department of Transportation is authorized and directed to erect and maintain appropriate signs dedicating the road facility named in this Resolution.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized and directed to make appropriate copies of this Resolution available for distribution to the Department of Transportation and to the families of Scott Tucker, Homer Williams, Carroll Purvis, Jerry Castleberry, Darrell Danforth, Charles Nichols, Jimmy Grant, Roger Grant, Roger Walker, Johnny Gaskins, Dalton Purvis, Raliegh Tyson, Dewayne Lovett, Ray Pearson, Fred Ivey, Larry Taylor, James Griffin, Clifton Bryan, Ottis Weeks, Larry Purvis, Howard Womack, and Thomas Lokey.